The Essential Bob Dylan (2000)

Disc One 1. Blowin' in the Wind 2. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right 3. The Times They Are A-Changin' 4. It Ain't Me Babe 5. Maggie's Farm 6. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue 7. Mr. Tambourine Man 8. Subterranean Homesick Blues 9. Like a Rolling Stone 10.Positively 4th Street 11.Just Like A Woman 12.Rainy Day Women #12 & 35 13.All Along the Watchtower 14.Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn) 15.I'll Be Your Baby Tonight Disc Two 1. Lay Lady Lay 2. If Not For You 3. I Shall Be Released 4. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere 5. Knockin' on Heaven's Door 6. Forever Young 7. Tangled Up in Blue 8. Shelter From the Storm 9. Hurricane 10.Gotta Serve Somebody 11.Jokerman 12.Silvio 13.Everything is Broken 14.Not Dark Yet 15.Things Have Changed


One of the stronger "hits" packages made especially for the compact disc format. Two discs aren't quite enough, as another three disc set released a few years later (simply called Dylan) would prove. By the time we're halfway through the second disc, we still have about 25 years to cover. Of course, those 25 years were a bit thin in terms of quality. Still, there should be a bit more from his later days. There's one new song, Things Have Changed that is pretty good. Whether it belongs with the rest of what is here is debatable.

Back To Main Page
Go To Next Review