Live: Right Here, Right Now (1993)

Disc One
1. Poundcake
2. Judgement Day
3. When It's Love
4. Spanked
5. Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love
6. In 'n' Out
7. Dreams
8. Man on a Mission
9. Ultra Bass
10.Pleasure Dome/Drum Solo
12.Love Walks In
13. Runaround
Disc Two
1. Right Now
2. One Way to Rock
3. Why Can't This Be Love?
4. Give to Live
5. Finish What Ya Started
6. Best of Both Worlds
7. 316
8. You Really Got Me/Cabo Wabo
9. Won't Get Fooled Again
11.Top of the World


The timing was probably perfect for this band's first official live album. They had proven to everyone that they were just as strong, at least sales wise, with their new incarnation that had produced three very successful albums, and the public was just as hungry as ever when these guys went on tour.

This is a double cd with an entire show (or it represents an entire show - I think it was recorded over two consecutive nights)that featured just what one would expect from a band that only had three albums during the Hagar era. They feature almost the entire album that the tour promoted, 1991's For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge. They only chose to not feature one song (ironically, one of the best, The Dream is Over. Why?) They do a small sampling of the best "early" Van Halen, a cover of Sammy's, a cover of The Who, and solos. Tons of solos. Instrumental solos tend to wear down live albums, but this isn't the case here. They're not too pretentious, and they're mixed well in places where they probably should be.

The one drawback is when Sammy talks to the audience before (and, worse, during) songs. He's actually a great communicator, but his little antidotes and personal stories are pretty inanely stupid. His little speech during the latter half of Panama about partying today and not worrying about tomorrow essentially ruins a great song.

The playing is superb, though, and the musicians are tight with one and other. The audience was obviously having a great time as well, and that's really all that matters.

Back To Main Page
Go To Next Review